All the Wild Wonders. Poems of our Earth: never forget to celebrate the wonders of our planet

All the Wild Wonders. Poems of our Earth. Edited by Wendy Cooling. Illustrated by Piet Grobler

Published 2010 by Frances Lincoln Children’s Books, 48p

 

Call me naïve but I still believe that we can educate the younger generations to respect and love our planet. It is not easy but we are all in search of a better world.

Addressing children’s innocence and unaltered ability to connect with nature, Wendy Cooling, a devoted promoter of children’s literature, has chosen 35 poems to celebrate the beauty of our planet and to indicate the risks that threaten it.

 

Who am I?

 

The trees ask me,/ And the sky,

And the sea asks me/Who am I?

 

The grass asks me,/ And the sand,

And the rock asks me/ Who I am.

 

The wind tells me/ At nightfall,

And the ram tells me/ Someone small.

 

Someone small/ Someone small

But a piece of it all.

(Felice Holman, USA)

all-the-wild-wonders-pag-12-13
Copyright Piet Grobler

No matter how small, we are all parts of the universe and as most of the messages of these poems say we should appreciate and defend all beauties of nature, be they trees, vulnerable creatures, seas and oceans or the wind.

The first poem in the book, which also gives the title of the anthology, is a mother’s manifesto, a touching poem about fighting to preserve Earth’s beauty and individuality.

 All the Wild Wonders

For you my sweet babe/ I wish fish in the sea

Birds in the trees/ Tigers in jungles

And all the wild wonders/ All the wild wonders

For you my sweet babe.

 

For you my sweet babe/ I wish carpets of wildflowers

Beetles and butterflies/ Bright birds of paradise

And all the wild wonders/ All the wild wonders

For you my sweet babe.

 

For you my sweet babe/ I wish wind for the albatross

Clear flowing rivers/ Forests of giants

And all the wild wonders/ All the wild wonders

For you my sweet babe.

 

For this wish to come true/ We have much work to do

All the wild wonders/ All the wild wonders

For you my sweet babe.

(Elizabeth Honey, Australia)

Complement All the Wild Wonders with Isabel Minhós Martins’s Coming and Going, a beautiful book that promotes environmental awareness and Marc Martin’s A River, a poetical picture book that invites to rediscovering nature.

Leave a Reply

